National 8-Ball Title for Teutscher & Molrudee

Dutchman  Marco Teutscher claimed the national 8-ball men's title with a convincing 9-1 win in Dunedin on Sunday.

Teutscher, who was representing Auckland at the tournament, beat Canterbury's Daniel Bowen.

Bowen fought his way into the final from the bottom half of the 32 qualifiers.

Local hope Brendan Ng was eliminated in the quarterfinals by New Zealand No1-ranked 8-ball and 9-ball player Matt Edwards.

Edwards was defeated 9-4 in the semifinal by Teutscher.

In the women's open event, Auckland's Molrudee Kasemchaiyanan beat provincial team-mate Lorna Frost 9-5 to take the title.

Lydia Nenewale was the best of the locals. She won her quarterfinal 7-2 but bowed out 7-2 to Frost in the semifinals.

Kate Timms-Dean, of Dunedin, was knocked out in the quarterfinals by Kasemchaiyanan.

In the team events, Canterbury won the top section with Otago claiming victory in the B grade.

It was the first time the nationals, which attracted 75 competitors, had been staged in Dunedin since 2002.


Arcticle by ODT (Otago Daily Times)

New Zealand Pool Association

P.O Box 47729
Auckland 1144
New Zealand

© Copyright 2017 New Zealand Pool Association Ventrix Web Development